The Richey Suncoast Theatre is a historic 334-seat performing arts venue in
downtown New Port Richey. Originally opened as a movie house during the Florida
land boom, it now serves as a community arts hub for live theater, concerts,
film screenings, and special events.

Built in 1926, the venue originally opened as the Thomas Meighan Theatre, named
in honor of the silent film star who owned a home in New Port Richey and
envisioned turning the city into "Hollywood of the East". It showed silent
movies and hosted vaudeville entertainment. After closing in 1934 during the
Great Depression, the building re-opened under different ownership. It changed
hands and names multiple times through the years, but operated continuously as a
town movie house. In 1972 it was purchased by a non-profit group who operated it
as a community playhouse under the name Richey Suncoast Theatre.
In recent years, the theatre has expanded its offerings to keep up with a
rennaissance of activity and tourism in New Port Richey. Its iconic golden dome
roof and exterior architecture designed by Thomas Reed martin make it a
highlight of the city's historic downtown district. Although it is still
operated primarily as a venue for live stage entertainment, it now also shows
movies and hosts musical acts and concerts.
In addition to its theatrical schedule, live shows and movies, the non-profit
organization provides youth activities like their RST Kids Musical Theatre
Camps, and other educational programs. As a community playhouse, public
auditions are conducted so that anyone can try out for upcoming stage
productions.
The venue includes a box office and a snack bar that is open during performances
and shows. Online ordering and seat reservations are done through their website
- and season tickets are available.
Activities & Facilities
Restaurant

Live music